Posted on: Monday, July 6th, 2015

WIFTA Board Meets with Luke Azavedo

WIFTA meeting with Luke Azavedo in Calgary on June 23, 2015. Pictured left to right: Suza Singh – WIFTA Treasurer, Patricia Meilleur – WIFTA President, Luke Azevedo Commissioner – Film, Television & Creative Industries, Liisa Craig – Calgary Econimic Development Logistics Coordinator, Rayna McKay – WIFTA Board Member and Geoffrey Boddy – WIFTA Board Member.


Posted on: Tuesday, May 19th, 2015




HELLO WIFTA Supporters:

Banff World Media Festival is just around the corner. Members and Friends of WIFTA are entitled to a discounted rate. Check out this link for a great savings.

Discounted link

If you haven’t renewed your WIFTA Membership, make sure you do it today. Go to:

Have a great summer!

Susan Feddema-Leonard, WIFTA Vice President —

Women in Film & Television Alberta – WIFTA
Visit our website:
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter @WIFTAlberta

Posted on: Thursday, April 23rd, 2015

Rosie Award Nominees Update



Yesterday AMPIA announced the Alberta Film and Television Rosie Awards nominees. I would like to congratulate WIFTA Board members Jesse Szymanski and Laura Vinson for their nominations.

Jesse was nominated for Best Dramatic Series for Blackstone for Prairie Dog Film + Television. She was also nominated for Best Production Reflecting Cultural Diversity for Blackstone’s “Sext Me” for Prairie Dog Film + Television.

Laura Vinson & Dave Martineau were nominated for Ancestors Calling,for the best original musical score non-fiction over 30 minutes, for a Peoples & Peaks Productions documentary. This will also be airing on Wild TV in in the next few weeks.

We are very proud of our WIFTA colleagues’ great accomplishments.

Posted on: Sunday, April 12th, 2015

11 Female Film Pioneers

Women in Film


Check out 11 Female Film Pioneers Who Paved the Road to Hollywood

San Diego State University’s Center for the Study of Women in Television and Film gave us some disturbing news after the New Year: Gender diversity in media has actually been getting worse.

The report concluded that the number of women represented in 2013 was lower than it had been in 1998, meaning “there’s been no discernible progress in increasing the numbers of women working in film over the past 16 years.”


Check out this link for the full article on
11 Female Film Pioneers Who Paved the Road to Hollywood